Average Scores in GED

After reviewing, preparing and finally appearing for the test, the next step that is involved is receiving the score. Once the candidate receives it; he must convert it into average score. There is not even a single officially approved conversion scale that enables the candidate to convert his score into the average one. It has been estimated that only 60% of the high school graduates pass the test with a minimum score of 420 in each of the five test subjects and an average of 450 in all the tests.

In order to convert the score into average score, the candidate must first of all find his total GED score and then divide it with the number of tests that he had appeared for. Mostly the candidate has to sit for five subjects in the test. For instance, if the candidate’s total score is 2600, and he sat for the entire five tests, then his average marks will be 520(2600/5).

Average Scores Needed To Pass GED Test

Basically the average  that the candidate needs to pass is decided upon by the state or the city where the candidate lives. The score requirements differ from one place to another.

After adaptation of the 2002 version, the minimum average score that the candidate requires to clear the test is 450 and he should also secure a minimum of 410 in all the five tests individually. The candidate must get an average mark of 420 in language art/ writing, 450 in mathematics and 410 each in social studies, science and reading respectively.

If the candidate is unable to secure a good score in one test, then he can compensate for it by putting up a better performance in the other test and by obtaining a better average  score.

Interpretation Of Average GED Scores

These scores in a way help in providing a thorough look inside the candidate’s academic acquaintance regarding all the five subjects in comparison with a high school graduate. The  candidate’s  score decides upon performance in the test, just the way the percentage that a student secures in high school concludes his performance. It can be interpreted in the form of Grade Point Average (GPA) in the following manner:

A score below 300 is equal to an estimated GPA of 0-1.0; a score between 300-400 is equal to a GPA of 1.5- 1.9, a score between 401-500 is equal to 2.0-2.9 GPA, 501-600 score is equal to 3.0-3.4GPA, similarly 601-700 score equals 3.5-3.7 GPA and finally the score of 701-800 is equal to a GPA of 3.8-4.0.

Many colleges and universities at the time of giving admission to a GED candidate may break out the average marks into GPA and further break down the GPA into grades. It works like GPA 4 is equal to excellent, 3 equals to good, 2 is equal to average, 1 is below average and 0 is poor. The breaking down of  scores into grades is done to simplify the admission criterion and it helps in placing the candidate in the right bracket.

Reporting GED Scores

There are a total of five tests and average score of each test is expressed separately. It is usually reported as standard score scale that can range from 200 to 800 i.e. from the lowest to the highest. The score that the candidate gets is not the correct number of answers that he had attempted in his test. Moreover as it is known that the writing and mathematics test part are divided, the scores reported are thus the combined scores of both the parts i.e. part 1 and part 2.

Various Types Of Average GED Scores

The average scores are of two major types i.e. percentile score and standard score. The percentile rank depicts the candidate’s achievements in the test in comparison with the achievement of a graduate from a high school. Sometimes, the percentile rank is seen as an estimated class rank of a high school. If the candidate gets a higher percentile rank, then his performance is considered to be better.

Whereas, the second type of  score i.e. standard scores are put in use where the tests have comparatively more number of questions than other GED tests. Such tests might have multiple-choice questions and various other forms of test. The standard score is applied in such a way that the estimated relative comparison of the different scores in all the five tests and test forms become possible.