Details About FELE and FTCE

A Brief Overview of FTCE and FELE

The State of Florida has made it compulsory for all candidates who desire to work as teachers or educators to undergo a state certification process conducted by the Bureau of Educator Certification (BEC). This is done through standardized tests known as Florida Teaching Certification Exam (FTCE) or Florida Educational Leadership Examination (FELE) since 2002. In general, this is known as the FTCE certification test.

According to the No Child Left Behind (NCLB) Act in Florida, all teachers and school administrators in the state have to be certified through the BEA in order to ensure that good quality education is provided to the students studying in schools. Moreover, all the teachers and administrators must have certain competencies which are required for their professional positions. In order to gain more understanding about the testing pattern, candidates can go through the information mentioned below.

About the FTCE:

Candidates have to undertake the tests specified by BEA in order to become certified and be eligible to work as teachers in the State of Florida. There is no set order for candidates to take the exams. Moreover, candidates are required to submit an application at and BEA would decide which certification is suitable for them.


The Florida Educational Leadership Examination (FELE) is specifically designed for the certification of school administrators. There are three subtests in this test; which are- (1) Instructional Leadership, (2) Operational Leadership and (3) School Leadership. These are computer based tests and the details of these tests are mentioned below:

FELE Subtest

Question Type

Time Duration

Instructional Leadership

70 multiple-choice questions

2 hours

Operational Leadership

70 multiple-choice questions

2 hours

School Leadership

55 multiple-choice questions+ 1 essay component

2 hours and 30 minutes

The passing criteria for this test are a scaled score of 200 or more on each test and candidates have to pass all three subtests in order to pass this test. Moreover, candidates can visit for more information.


It should be known that the FTCE certification consists of three subtests which are the General Knowledge Exam, Professional Education Exam and the Subject Area Exams.

General Knowledge Test (GK):

The GK test consists of four subtests, which are the Essay Subtest, the English Language Skills (ELS) Subtest, the Reading Subtest, and the Mathematics Subtest. All these tests are computer- based tests and each test has a different time limit. In order to find out more information on it, you can visit the official website at: ( ). The passing criteria is a score of 6 or above on a scale of 12 for the essay writing and a scaled score of 200 on each subtest. Also, it is mandatory for candidates to pass all 4 subtests for clearing this test.

Professional Education Test:

The Professional Education test is an exam which includes 120 multiple-choice questions and lasts for around 2 hours and 30 minutes. The passing criterion for this computer-based test is a scaled score of at least 200. Candidates can visit this website ( for more information.

Subject Area Examinations (SAEs):

There are 42 different SAEs conducted through FTCE which include subjects from Languages to Special Education subject areas. However, it should be known that, in general, a scaled score of 200 is the minimum passing criterion for this test. It is suggested that candidates visit the official website of the examination ( for more information on subject area related subtests.

There are many study resources available for this test. Moreover, it should be known that candidates can retake this test by paying the required fee. In order to become eligible for good teaching and administration positions with Florida schools, the FTCE certification is extremely important. Hence, candidates should utilize good quality study resources and prepare well for this test.