Single Subjects Test of CSET

CSET Single Subjects Test - A Brief Overview

The California Subject Examinations for Teachers or CSET is a test, which allows would-be teachers to fulfill the requirements that are necessary for obtaining specific certificates or credentials that are assistive in teaching the subjects in which the tests are taken. The test, which is jointly conducted by CTC or California Commission on Teacher Credentialing and Evaluation System group of Pearson has been arranged in such a manner so that the participating candidates get an opportunity to enhance their skills and abilities by obtaining the certificates that are available for those test takers who are able to meet the requirements of the same.

The CSET is administered on the basis of certain parameters or criteria against which the competence of the candidates is measured instead of comparing the scores obtained by the fellow test takers. The test is divided into five categories and each one intends to assess specific proficiency and expertise of each candidate. The readers can note the categories of the test from the following points:

  • CSET-Single Subjects
  • CSET-Multiple Subjects
  • CSET-Preliminary Educational Technology
  • CSET- LOTE (for bilingual authorization)
  • CSET- Writing Skills

The Single Subjects test consists of 2-4 subtests in each domain for which the questions are of multiple-choice format and those in which the candidates have to construct their own responses and it is available in Paper-Based testing. The following points include a brief overview of this test:

  • Agriculture: This is the first domain of the Single Subjects test that includes three subtests. The first subtest is based on Plant and Soil Science, the second subtest consists of Environmental Science and Animal Resource Management and Animal Science. The third subtest includes Agricultural Systems Technology along with Agricultural Business and Economics.

  • Art: In this domain, there are two subtests consisting of Artistic Perception, Historical and Cultural Contexts of the Visual Arts and Aesthetic Valuing as the first subtest. In the second subtest, the subjects include Creative Expression, Connections, Relationships and Applications along with History and Theories of Learning in Art. The candidates can visit the website for more guiding principles regarding his test.

  • Business: There are three subtests in this domain. While the first subtest contains Marketing and Business Management, the second subtest includes Economics along with Accounts and Finance and the third subtest consists of Information Technology and Business Environment and Communication.

  • English: In this domain, there are four subtests that are to be attempted by the candidates. The first subtest includes Literature and Textual Analysis along with Composition and Rhetoric (multiple-choice format), the second subtest consists of Language, Linguistics and Literacy, the third subtest comprises of Literature and Textual Analysis (constructing own response). The fourth subtest comprises of Communications: Speech, Creative Performance, and Media.

  • Foundational-Level General Science: By taking this test, the test takers are able to obtain the credential for teaching introductory, general and integrate science. The first subtest in this category includes Astronomy, Waves, Forces and Motion, Dynamic Processes of the Earth, Electricity and Magnetism and Earth Resources. On the other hand, the second subtest consists of Ecology, Cell and Organismal Biology, Heat Transfer and Thermodynamics, Genetics and Evolution, Molecular Biology band Biochemistry along with Structure and Properties of Matter.

  • Health Science: There are three subtests in this domain. While the first subtest includes Foundations of Health Education, Chronic and Communicable Diseases, and Human Growth and Development, the second subtest comprises of Mental and Emotional Health, Alcohol, Tobacco and Other Drugs along with Nutrition and Fitness. The third subtest consists of Environmental Health, Family Life and Interpersonal Relationships, and Consumer and Community Health.

  • Home Economics: Here, there are three subtests. In the first subtest, the candidates have to attempt questions on Personal, Family and Child Development; in the second subtest the subjects include Nutrition, Foods and Hospitality. The third subtest consists of questions on Housing and Interior Design, Fashion and Textiles and Consumer Education.

  • Industrial and Technology Education: In the first subtest of this domain, the subject includes Nature of Technology and the second subtest includes Project and Product Development, Power and Energy and Information and Communication.

Besides this, the participants can also obtain credentials for Languages other than English for which they can register according to the number of subtests in which they choose to appear.

The test on Single Subjects is a comprehensive section consisting of a varied range of individual subjects that allow the candidates to obtain specific certificates or credentials of teaching after fulfilling the requirements of the same.